• logo

Carla Thomas - Love Means... & Memphis Queen (1997)

Carla Thomas - Love Means... & Memphis Queen (1997)

BAND/ARTIST: Carla Thomas

  • Title: Love Means... & Memphis Queen
  • Year Of Release: 1997
  • Label: Stax/Craft Recordings
  • Genre: Soul, Blues, Funk, Jazz, Rhythm & Blues
  • Quality: FLAC (tracks)
  • Total Time: 68:30
  • Total Size: 422 mb
Although Carla Thomas had her share of R&B hits in the 1960s, the Queen of Memphis Soul wasn't as visible on the pop charts as Diana Ross, Dionne Warwick or Gladys Knight. Thomas wasn't a superstar in the pop world, but Stax's Al Bell believed she had the potential to become one and encouraged her to take a sleeker, more Motown-ish approach. Thomas had flirted with Northern soul sounds on some of her previous albums, and it became a primary direction on the LPs Memphis Queen and its follow-up Love Means..., which Fantasy combined on this single CD in 1997. Most of Queen was produced by Detroiter Don Davis, while the main producer on the even more pop-minded Love was Thomas' brother, Marvelle Thomas. Though this change of direction didn't turn Thomas into a pop superstar, she did have a major hit in "I Like What You're Doing (To Me)" and moderate hits with "You've Got a Cushion to Fall On" and "Guide Me Well." The soul goddess had a low opinion of Davis' production style, but the fact is that "Precious Memories," "Strung Out Over You" and other Davis-produced material is highly enjoyable. And the songs from Love are equally impressive. But sadly, Love turned out to be Thomas' final Stax project.


01. Didn't We
02. Are You Sure?
03. What Is Love?
04. Daughter, You're Still Your Daddy's Child
05. Love Means You Never Have To Say You're Sorry
06. You've Got A Cushion To Fall On
07. Il Est Plus Doux Que
08. Cherish
09. I Wake Up Wanting You
10. I Like What You're Doing To Me
11. I Play For Keeps
12. Don't Say No More
13. More Man Than I Ever Had
14. I've Fallen In Love With You
15. He's Beating Your Time
16. Unyielding
17. Strung Out Over You
18. How Can You Throw My Love Away
19. Guide Me Well
20. Precious Memories
21. Where Do I Go

As a ISRA.CLOUD's PREMIUM member you will have the following benefits:
  • Unlimited high speed downloads
  • Download directly without waiting time
  • Unlimited parallel downloads
  • Support for download accelerators
  • No advertising
  • Resume broken downloads